RSS
 

Every Time a Bell Rings by Carmel Harrington / eBook Review

28 paź
2 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 2 2 Flares ×

Every Time a Bell Rings by Carmel Harrington

 

Publisher: HarperImpulse

Publishing Date: 15th October 2015

Source:  Copy provided by publisher via NetGalley,  thank you!

Genre:  Women’s Fiction, Romance

 Buy the Book: Kindle | Paperback

 

 

 

Synopsis:

An angel gets its wings…

Belle has taken all the Christmas decorations down. This year they won’t be celebrating.

As foster parents, Belle and Jim have given many children the chance of a happier start in life. They’ve loved them as if they were their own. They shouldn’t have favourites but little Lauren has touched their hearts. And now her mother is well enough to take her back and Belle can’t bear the loss.

Hence, Christmas is cancelled.

So when Jim crashes his car one icy December night, after an argument about Lauren, Belle can only blame herself. Everything she loves is lost. And Belle finds herself standing on The Ha’Penny Bridge wishing she had never been born.

But what happens to a Christmas wish when an angel is listening…

Will Belle realise, before it’s too late, that her life is the most wonderful life of all?

Inspired by the timeless tale of beloved Christmas movie, It’s a Wonderful Life, Carmel Harrington’s next book tells the story of Belle, a young woman and foster carer from Dublin who faces the hardest decision of her life this Christmas on The Ha’Penny Bridge.

Full of Irish charm, magic, and the warmth of the festive season this is an emotional, heartwarming story that will stay with you long after you’ve reached ‘The End’. Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern & Jojo Moyes.

Carmel is the bestselling author of The Life You Left & Beyond Grace’s Rainbow, voted Romantic eBook of the Year 2013.

 Rating: 5/5

 

„Every Time a Bell Rings” is my Carmel Harrington’s first book – no need to explain why, as you know it as well as I do: time, or rather lack of it. I’ve seen many raving reviews for this book and it awoke my curiosity, so as soon as I’ve noticed it on NetGalley, I downloaded it to my kindle and almost immediately started reading it. „Every Time a Bell Rings” is based on the author’s favourite film, „It’s a Wonderful Life” and I must immediately fess up that I haven’t seen it, but truly, I didn’t have any problem to get into the heart of the story – maybe a little at the beginning, but that’s all. The book follows the story of Belle and Jim who got to know each other at their foster mum Tess’ home – from the very beginning I was enchanted by the bond they formed, it was incredible friendship and you could just see that those two just perfectly teamed up together.

But I’ll be honest. At the beginning I though, hmmm, where is the fire? For my liking, the story dragged on too much, and sure, it was interesting, captivating and heart – breaking, but I couldn’t see what is so special about it. But soon, the story gained incredible tempo and I could see now where the fire was! Later on there was still one moment, when the author introduced Nora to us, when I thought, NO WAY, impossible, it can’t be true and it’s not going to work, it’s too far – fetched, but it DID work!

Everything in this book was perfect. All the feelings and emotions were so brilliantly described, they were truly palpable through the pages, and I could feel the pain, hurt, love and hope that the characters felt. The way the foster parenting was described was so honest, the author has highlighted all the pros and cons and she made it feel so worth doing! For sure Belle and Jim were right persons in the right place. The story touches so many incredibly important issues, and no matter if it is about foster parenting, about children feeling lost, about loosing pregnancy or about feeling unsure about the future, it is all tackled with so much gentleness and tenderness.

The times in the story switch often, and at the beginning it was a little confusing, as it jumped between the times too much for my liking, but thanks to this way of writing it we could see how the relationship between Belle and Jim was growing, developing, blossoming, and we could also see what kind of lives those two had when their paths diverged, and how come those two are foster parents as well. It all was so realistic and I truly didn’t expect this magic element at all, but well, it’s set around Christmas, so it’s allowed, right? And as I have already mentioned, never in a million years was I expecting that it’s going to work out in this story, but it did – beautifully! I loved Nora and the way she showed Belle what she could lose or never experience and see.

Our main characters are Belle, Jim and their foster mum Tess. I adored all of them, but I think it was Tess that stole my heart totally. She was so warm, so full of love to their foster children and so down – to – earth, I loved her approach to fostering and the way she could explain how the world is working.
Belle seemed a little too meh for my liking, like the one who too often pities herself, but on the other hand I could also understand her and where it was coming from. It, in fact, was a pain to see her fighting her demons, to always keeping in mind that her mother didn’t want her – when she was a child, and when she was an adult. Yes, there were moments that I wanted to shake her and tell her to stop being so tender and also selfish, but then again, she had a right to be like this, and it was great to see how eventually she was starting to see what’s really important in her life. What I so liked in Bella was the fact that no matter what, she kept fighting, and really, learning about her past, her history made me warm to her and understand her.
But let’s not forget all the other characters in the book, all the foster kids – they were all so well developed and described, every time I picked this book up again I had a feeling I’m back with my old friends. The bond between Belle, Jim and Tess as a foster family was so touching, as it often isn’t so strong in real families. They had such a great influence and impact on each other. And of course they were not flawless, even if it sounds so, oh no.

Altogether, „Every Time a Bell Rings” is an uplifting, festive read that touches upon many important themes and how they can affect our lives. It is a beautiful book about appreciating this what we’re having and never doubting in the reasons why we were born, that we have our own mission to accomplish on this Earth. A read with a lesson in it, no matter if this lesson involved a lot of magic – it nevertheless sounded so real. It was a beautiful story that took my breath away, written in a brilliant way, full not only of gentle moments, but also a clever humour. Emotional, heart – breaking but also optimistic and full of hope, and twists and turns, and really there were moments that I haven’s seen coming. It was compelling and so fulfilling, and I think everybody should read it!

 
Brak komentarzy

Napisane przez w kategorii 2015 Releases, Rating 5/5

 

Tags: ,

Dodaj komentarz

 

 
 

2 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 2 2 Flares ×